Alaska Insurance Agent 24-Hour Continuing Education Course (Life, Health, Property, and Casualty)


  • Duration: 24 hours
Course Types:
Share This Course:

How to Complete the Alaska Insurance Continuing Education Renewal

General Requirements:

Total Hours

24 hours biennially for Producers and Adjusters

Compliance Renewal Date

Renewal date is the last day of the licensee’s birth month, based on odd or even birth year. The first renewal will not be due until the licensee has been licensed for at least 24 months.

You may also need to take specific courses or earn specific credit types to renew your license. These course completions will count toward the total hour requirement.

Line-Specific Requirements:

Hours may be taken in any line of authority; however, no more than 8 hours may be in business organization, management, or environment.

For All Licenses:

3 hrs – Producers & Adjusters must complete 3 hrs of Ethics as part of the total requirement

Annuity Requirements

An insurance producer who engages in the sale of an annuity product must complete a one-time minimum four credit-hour annuity training course approved by the director and provided in accordance with Alaska statutes.

Long-Term Care Training

A person who is currently licensed and selling, soliciting, or negotiating long-term care insurance may not do so unless he or she has completed a one-time training course. This one-time training course must be at least eight credit hours in duration and must be completed within one year of the effective date of this regulation. Ongoing training of at least four credit hours must also be completed every 24 months after the initial training.

All Other State Requirements

Resident Requirements

24 CE credit hours are required to renew a license, including 3 hours of ethics. Of the 24 CE credit hours required for renewal, a licensee may use no more than 8 credits hours per renewal in the subject area of business organization, management, and environment, including motivation, psychology, and sales training.

This state has issued a notice reminding licensees who sell flood insurance of their requirement to comply with the minimum training requirements established by FEMA and the National Flood Insurance Program.

Non Resident Requirements

Non-resident licensees, who submit evidence satisfactory to the Director that the license has satisfied any continuing education requirement in their resident state, are exempt from Alaska CE requirements. Licensees who do not claim this exemption must satisfy Alaska resident CE requirements.

Course Repetition

Course repetition is not permitted within the compliance/renewal period.

Exam Rules

Online certification exams are closed book. Course materials are not available while the exam is in progress. The final exam must be passed with a score of 70% or higher to receive CE credit. If the exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.

Period Requirements

Licensees are exempt from the CE requirements if licensed for fewer than 24 months. CE must be met every two years by the licensee’s birth date. The license period is 24 months; however a license will be issued for 27 months if the licensee applies within 3 months of this birthday.

Carryover Requirements

8 CE hours may be carried over for each two year renewal period.

A course may be repeated only once during a compliance period. If the course is claimed for carry over credit, it may not be repeated in the next compliance period.

Reporting Requirements

For all licensees that have taken a course prior to January 1, 2014, the licensee reports completion to the state of Alaska. This includes any courses that will be reported as carry-over credits.

For any CE courses taken after January 1, 2014, the education provider is now required to report completions no more than 10 days after the course completion date.

Reporting Fees

In Alaska, the reporting of Insurance CE credits requires a course reporting fee of $1.00 per credit hour (online, self-study and classroom courses). This reporting fee will be automatically charged to you (on the last credit card used in your account) each time you complete an online, self-study, or classroom course.

Instructor Credit

Individuals acting as instructors for continuing education courses receive the same amount of CE credit as his or her students receive for taking the class. The CE credit may be claimed only once for instruction of a specific program unless the director finds that substantial new developments have occurred.


Any person who was licensed with this division prior to January 1, 1980 is exempt from CE requirements.

Acceptable Training Methods

  • Correspondence (Print)
  • Company Seminars
  • Classroom
  • CBT/CD-ROM (Computer-Based Training)
  • Online (Internet Delivery)

“Did You Find What You Need?” For Additional Renewal Information:

Disclaimer: Course requirements and pricing are subject to change. Students are advised to verify all necessary licensing and education requirements with the appropriate state department or licensing agency prior to purchase. All courses offered on this site are processed and administered through third-party companies. Cameron.Academy does not process payments nor issue refunds. Responsibilities of the user-selected third-party company (or companies) include publishing and updating content, payment processing and refunds, administering and/or hosting courses, monitoring, grading, reporting, issuing certification (paper and/or digital), and providing various products. Average salary statistics may vary and are published by ZipRecruiter via their website. Cameron.Academy does not assume responsibility for this third-party data and users should independently research its’ accuracy. All customer and/or technical support will be provided through the user-selected third-party. Therefore, Cameron.Academy does not assume any responsibility nor liability for issues that may arise as a result of purchasing these third-party courses and/or products.